DUI Law in Georgia: What You Need to Know
It is common knowledge that drunk driving is a dangerous act that puts all road users at risk, yet it still happens all the time. According to the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety in Georgia, nearly one-third of all traffic fatalities that occurred in 2016 involved an impaired driver.
Although drunk driving rates in the United States have declined over recent years, research shows that in Georgia, the number of people who report driving while drunk is well above the national average. If you were involved in an accident with a drunk driver, turn to a Marietta personal injury attorney at Amanda Hall Injury Law for legal guidance.
Our DUI accident lawyers have been representing the injured for more than 28 years. We have won numerous six- and seven-figure settlements and verdicts. Call 678-445-7423 for a free consultation today.
What Are the Penalties of a DUI Conviction in Georgia?
Research shows that drunk-driving accidents tend to be more serious than other kinds of crashes. This might be because impaired drivers are operating under a false perception of risk, or it could be that a drunk person is prone to falling asleep at the wheel, leaving the vehicle careening out of control.
According to the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety in Georgia, 24 percent of all drunk driving-related crashes involved one or more fatalities. To reduce this figure, our state introduced strict penalties for DUI.
Georgia’s Open Container Law forbids drivers and passengers from carrying any container that contains any amount of alcoholic beverage inside a moving vehicle. The fine for this offense stands at $200.
Georgia drivers are also subject to the implied consent law. This means that by driving on the state’s roads, you consent to chemical tests for the presence of alcohol in your system. Refusing to undergo one of these tests, if ordered to do so by a police officer, will lead to a hefty fine and license revocation.
If you have been charged with your first DUI offense in Georgia, you could face fines of between $300 and $1,000. Your license will also be suspended for up to one year, and you will be sentenced to complete 40 hours of community service. To have your license reinstated, you will first be required to pay the reinstatement fee of $210. Drivers who are younger than 21 will have to wait an extra 12 months to obtain their graduated driver’s license.
The penalties are more severe if you are charged with subsequent offenses. A second DUI charge comes with a minimum fine of $600 and a mandatory 48 hours in jail. A third conviction involves a fine of up to $5,000, license revocation, and publication of your name, photo, and address in in a local newspaper. You can also expect a DUI conviction to come with significantly higher car insurance rates.
Despite these penalties, an alarming number of drivers in Georgia still choose to get behind the wheel while impaired. If you were in an accident with an intoxicated motorist, contact a personal injury attorney at Amanda Hall Injury Law.
Our Marietta DUI accident lawyers operate on a contingency fee basis, which means that if no recovery is made, you will not owe us anything. Call 678-445-7423 to arrange your free consultation, and visit the USAttorneys website to learn more about DUI accident claims in Georgia.
Amanda Hall Injury Law
145 Towne Lake Parkway, Suite 200
Woodstock, GA 30188